Because of the specialized staff training and resources required to provide high-quality memory care, memory care typically costs more than other types of residential care. On average, memory care will cost 20-30% more than assisted living.
While the national monthly average cost of assisted living is $4,051, Oregon residents pay nearly $450 more per month, for an average rate of $4,499. This is in line with average costs in Oregon’s neighboring state of California, but over $1,000 more per month than costs in nearby Nevada. In Washington, however, assisted living costs are even higher at $5,500 per month. Residents should also note that with the expected 25% addition in costs for memory care in any state, Oregonians receiving memory care can anticipate paying around $5,624 per month.
However, the cost of assisted living differs greatly throughout the state, even in the largest cities. In Portland, by far the state’s most populous city, assisted living rates are much higher than the state average, at $4,998 per month. Approximately 50 miles to the south in nearby Salem, monthly costs are significantly lower at $4,275, and further south in Eugene, residents pay an average of $4,325. With the additional costs associated with specialized memory care, residents with Alzheimer’s disease or dementia can expect to pay 20-30% more depending on the area where they live and the specific facility they choose.
The Oregon K Plan is a Medicaid program permitting the state to provide home and community-based services to Medicaid-enrolled seniors and residents with disabilities. Also known as the Affordable Care Act’s Community First Choice (CFC) Option, the program helps Oregon residents who need long-term care and who would otherwise be placed in an institutional setting to remain living in their homes or their local community of choice. Services include help with tasks that fall under the umbrella of activities of daily living and instrumental activities of daily living, such as bathing, dressing, feeding, cooking, housekeeping and memory care. Other supports may include respite care, home modifications and transportation services.
Through the Aged and Physically Disabled (APD) waiver, qualified Oregon residents may receive transition services to help them move from an institutional facility, such as a nursing home, back into their own home or a community setting. The waiver is available to adults aged 18-64 with a disability and seniors aged 65 and older. Participants may be enrolled in both the Oregon K Plan and the APD waiver as long as they do not receive overlapping services.
The Spousal Pay Program is a unique program that pays spouses to care for their own partners, as long as both spouses meet eligibility requirements and the spouse being cared for requires assistance with at least four activities of daily living. Through the program, the caregiver spouse becomes an official Homecare Worker and paying member of the Homecare Union, enabling the spouse to receive a salary and unemployment insurance.
Oregon Project Independence (OPI) is a state-funded program available to individuals of any age with Alzheimer’s disease or dementia-related impairments and seniors aged 60 and older. Program benefits include in-home care, assistance with activities of daily living, respite, skilled nursing and adult day care. Additionally, participants may direct their care by choosing their care provider.
In addition to the state programs mentioned above, those looking for resources to finance memory care may consider:
In Oregon, memory care is provided in communities licensed through the Oregon Department of Human Services. These mostly include residential care facilities but can also include assisted living and nursing facilities. Each licensed facility must meet state requirements, serve individuals displaying behavioral symptoms and ensure each staff member is trained in dementia care. Licenses expire every two years, and department staff members conduct facility inspections at least once in a two year period to ensure facilities adhere to all regulations and in response to complaints. All facilities providing memory care for residents with dementia must obtain an official endorsement on its license.
In Oregon, there are no overarching restrictions to the levels of care residential care and assisted living facilities may offer. Facilities must provide residents with the following services:
Prior to admitting a new resident, a facility must perform an initial screening process to identify the potential resident’s preferences and needs and confirm their ability to meet those needs. Facilities may admit individuals with all levels of needs but may also request that residents move out for certain reasons.
|Residents Who May Be Admitted||Older adults and people with:|
|Residents Who May Be Admitted||Those who:|
Facilities endorsed as a memory care community must provide residents with individualized nutritional and activity plans. Before a resident’s admission, these communities must provide residents and their family members with a state-designated uniform disclosure statement that details their policies along with their philosophy of care, information on how they provide services, staff training information, the number of direct care staff working each shift and the facility’s admission, transfer and discharge procedures.
Specially trained facility staff members over 18 years old may administer medication. All facility-administered medications must be reviewed by a registered nurse or pharmacist every 90 days. Antipsychotic medications have additional administration requirements:
Assisted living facilities must meet the following requirements:
Units in residential care facilities must:
Additionally, all facility buildings must have smoke detectors, automatic sprinkler systems and manual and automatic fire alarms. Endorsed memory care communities should meet specific occupancy and lighting requirements and have a secure, enclosed space for outdoor recreation.
Endorsed memory care communities must adhere to licensing requirements and sufficiently meet residents’ scheduled and unscheduled needs. All staff members must be trained in dementia-specific topics within 30 days of hire and before providing any resident services. Annually, staff must also obtain 12 hours of training to meet licensing requirements and four hours of dementia-specific service training. Administrators must obtain 20 hours of continuing education annually, 10 of which must be dementia-specific.
All facilities must have an employed, full-time administrator on-site 40 or more hours per week. They must also have a defined system in place to ensure the number of staff on-site and available is sufficient to meet residents’ needs at all times.
Through the Oregon K Plan, or Community First Choice, Medicaid covers assisted living and residential care services through a tiered reimbursement system.
Complaints against facilities or suspicions of abuse should be reported to Adult Protective Services via the abuse reporting hotline at 1-855-503-7233. Suspicions that a facility is violating state regulations may be reported to the Community-Based Care Licensing Complaint Unit at 1-844-503-4773.
|Aging and Disability Resource Center of Oregon||1-855-673-2372||The ADRC of Oregon has local chapters throughout the state where individuals with Alzheimer’s or dementia and caregivers can access resources, support groups and counseling for people in need of long-term care.|
|Alzheimer’s Association Oregon and Southwest Washington Chapter||800-272-3900||The Alzheimer’s Association serves Oregon residents affected by Alzheimer’s disease by providing information, support services, advocacy and research funding.|
|Oregon Care Partners||1-800-930-6851||Oregon Care Partners is a state-funded program offering in-person and online classes for Oregon residents who are professional caregivers or loved ones of people with Alzheimer’s and dementia.|